Context of 2 Corinthians 10:5

Today, it is one of those days when I really have to take my thoughts captive.  Probably because I have changed this website’s purpose to share some of God’s healing tools!

Wednesdays are my crazy busy running around day: teaching an English class, picking up my high schoolers and driving them to their Bible study at our church, then taking our Middle schooler to his soccer practice, to picking up the kids dropped earlier at church, then taking my oldest to a college fair, and my husband will host Bible Study at our home (since I will be at the college fair tonight).

When I look at my to do list, panic and depression threatens to overcome, and the task of doing anything at all seems too overwhelming to consider.  But, press on I must, so I grab my anxiety journal.  I use this journal only to keep track of the scriptures I know will remind me of the truth so that I can refute the lies that I am listening to in my head.  I also record within its pages songs, poems that have spoken to me at various instances in my life, because music often has the power to soothe these.

The first thing I need to do is pray, and remind myself of the promise of God’s peace when I pray and let God do the work of instilling that into my heart.  Then I open my journal, and begin to read from the beginning until I find a verse that speaks to just what I need to focus on today.  I’m going to leave that verse open on the table and when I feel the fear rise, I will say the words out loud.

So I suggest getting a journal or just a simple notebook and as you read your bible, or listen to the radio or sermon on Sunday, record the verses that speak to whatever you are struggling with today.

The verse that is speaking to me today, is 2 Corinthians 10:5, written out for you below.  I need to set myself towards God, not against the knowledge of Him.  When I do this, I can go through my day, doing the things that I know are necessary and letting go of those that are not, and then allowing His joy to fill me as I walk in obedience to His calling just for today.

So, lets get started.  Here’s the verse:

We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.

2Corinthians 10:5

Journaling

Today, look at the context (the verses surrounding the scripture passage) and record any new insights you find in your journal. Try repeating the verse out loud 3 times or more until you feel it is being cemented in your memory.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Context of 2 Corinthians 10:5

  1. janesforever says:

    Thank you for this encouragement. Like you I am an adoptive Mum and I find it such a blessing to commit Bible verses to memory. I love the title of your blog as I know what happens to me when I don’t take every thought captive.
    I am also writing a blog about what God is teaching me through adoption . I am very glad to have discovered yours and look forward to hearing what God has taught you on your journey, love Jane

    Early days – Adopting Star
    https://anunexpectedjourneytoadoption.wordpress.com/2016/04/11/early-days/

Leave a Reply

