Change my Heart of Stone

We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.  2Corninthians 10:5

Since beginning this journey in adoption, this verse has come to be my lifeline unto the Lord. Until I found myself at the bottom of a pit though, I never really understood how important this verse is to living the everyday Christian life.

Having been hit between the eyes this morning by my child’s really unkind words, I grasped for my lifeline once again. I dove into the Psalms, finding solace as I spoke David’s words aloud, giving voice to my hurt, anger and hopelessness. And slowly, God answers my prayer, directs my mind towards Him and His hope.

Today, I would really rather just walk away from the daily struggles; to quit would be so much easier. No matter how many times I have begged God to take this cup from me, the answer is always “NO.”

And even so, I am here to share with you that no matter how many times your child (or other person) flings hurtful words, disrespect and downright anger, God will not let you go, will not leave you and will lift you up and place your feet on the Rock (Psalm 91) of His Word.

If my thoughts remain stuck in the hurt, I cannot do as God asks me in obedience to do: love this child no matter how many times I have to subject myself to her hurtful words. But, if instead I simply offer God my willingness to take my thoughts captive, He takes those thoughts and does the work for me and changes my heart of stone into a heart of flesh ready to be molded in any way He chooses to.

6 thoughts on “Change my Heart of Stone

  1. janesforever says:

    Sending you love and prayers as you face those hurtful words from your daughter. It helps me to remember that Jesus knows was it feels like to have hurtful, angry words hurled at him. And that I can take the pain and the rejection to him and that he will intercede for me , Love Jane xx

  2. Karen F says:

    There is no question: if we wish to live fully, we cannot live accidentally. Everything is a purposeful choice. Perhaps the most significant choice of each day is “Will I give this to Jesus?” Oh how we need to, for He’s the only one who can take it.

  3. Good, beautiful and true says:

    Love, thank you. I face hurtful words often from a person close to me. I feel like God is calling me to preserve the relationship, but it is so hard. God’s love conquers our heart of stone. Praying for my “other” that their heart of stone may soften to God as well.

    • tdeets says:

      I will pray for you both as well! You are so right though, it is hard! Words do hurt, don’t they, but Jesus is not only our example in how to respond to this and the One who gives us victory in the midst of it all.

Leave a Reply

