Free from Condemnation

Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death.

                                    Romans 8:1-2

All of my life I have struggled with self-inflicted condemnation.  I would see God, not as the Father who ran to His prodigal daughter, but as the father who was waiting for me to mess up, wagging his finger at me saying, “I knew you would fail.”

But as I have grown in Christ, especially over the last eight years since melding our two families and two cultures into one, I have realized that my Heavenly Father is not waiting to condemn, but with open arms.

And yet, the father of lies continues to taunt me.  Unfortunately, sometimes I choose to listen to him, and the thoughts in my head, and when my emotions spiral downwards I am unable to function as a child of the King.

I am really good at condemning myself, focusing on how much I fail.  But this in the end is selfishness.  If I am constantly focusing on myself, I cannot worship nor thank the God I love, because all I can hear are the words, “I am not a good enough,” mother, wife, employee, or friend.  When this happens, my focus is in the wrong place: I am looking inward instead of upward.

This is where the Word of the Lord comes in.  When I have put this word into my heart, I know that I am not condemned, because I am free from sin because of the blood of Christ.  I am no longer subject to judgement or the law, because I have been set free.

So, even when the devil tempts me to remain in my old patterns of thinking, I use this verse to remind me who I really am: free.

6 thoughts on “Free from Condemnation

  1. Mindy Clemons says:

    Taryn, From those of us who were there at the beginning, but had no idea what it would all become – love, grace, and peace to you and Mark. As I caught up on both of your blogs today, I am glad to see you writing again… Glad to see you holding an ever brighter candle to ward off the darkness. You are a survivor, an ultra-marathoner. May God sustain you and pour out His blessings on you all. Much love, Mindy

    On Friday, May 20, 2016, Take Every Thought Captive wrote:

    > tdeets posted: “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are > in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who > gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death. > Romans 8:1-2 All of my life ” >

    • tdeets says:

      Thanks, Mindy, I so appreciate your words. I really miss our study times together too! The one we did on Spiritual Warfare is one I go back to A LOT! I love to read your blog too!

  2. Good, beautiful and true says:

    Thank you. I struggle with similar issues. It is hard to overcome a negative/critical mindset if we were raised in that sort of environment. Trusting God’s workmanship in my life. Hoping to devote time this summer to some emotional processing and healing. Thank you for sharing truth on your blog!

Leave a Reply

